Wise Running

Train smart, eat well, and enjoy the run.

Opinions Requested:Should I include traditional training plans in my newest book on running?

Conundrum.  Dilemma. Quandary.
These are all big words for the question facing me right now:

Should I include traditional training plans in my newest book on running?

Even though I have developed the plans, I am leaning towards no.

The Argument for Inclusionrevised-plans

Everyone has to start somewhere.  My experience tells me that traditional plans work.  When folks follow a plan that has all of the traditional aspect, it works for the vast majority of people who really do it the way it was designed. Most of the ideas in this book are followed in a traditional plan.

  • A gradual increase in weekly miles
  • Rest days
  • A balance of speed work, tempo work, easy and long runs
  • Rarely doing two hard days back-to-back

Heck, just being more consistent and purposeful with your workouts will help 80% of runners out there to improve their performance greatly.  In that respect, I am simply practicing what I preach in terms of including a coordinated plan of tried and true methods.  So why is there a question?  I should include traditional training programs, right?

The Argument Against Inclusion

The first and most important reason against inclusion is that it is unnecessary.  There are already a million solid plans out there, including free ones, that I know can work well for my readers.

I believe the content of my book is necessary because it pulls together so much information and delivers it to the reader in an understandable way.  I am not so sure about how much value is added by me putting out 4 or 5 training plans that would be similar.

Perhaps more important is the fact that what I am doing now is working for me, and it is not traditional.  I can’t include it yet, because it must be field tested with enough runners to be able to publish the plan with confidence.  I am only  sharing it with my personal coaching clients for now.

Please comment on this blog post to let me know what you think I should do?

Should I include some traditional training plans in my new book?
Why or why not?

Thank you for your input!

P. Mark Taylor
WiseRunning.com

 

.

One response to “Opinions Requested:Should I include traditional training plans in my newest book on running?

  1. sgrynd January 19, 2017 at 1:28 pm

    Having a training plan in the book will likely help sell it to those who are looking for one and for those who don’t want a training plan will likely not be bothered by its inclusion.

Leave a Reply

