Wise Running

Train smart, eat well, and enjoy the run.

The Gift of Running – a reflection on my first book about running

It has been just over 4 years since I published my first book on running.  It was written to gather all of the basic info about running into one easy to read source.  I just wanted to share what I had learned.

The response was surprisingly awesome.  I have heard from a lot of folks over the last four years that have gotten stronger and faster.  One of the things they often share is not about the technical info, but about my stories of trials and tribulations.  I never claimed to be perfect or know it all.  I just wanted to share what I learned.

Well, 4 years later I am still working on my third book.  I have been waiting for the time when I felt like I had a strong enough new message to make it worth the reader’s time and effort.  Well, I finally have the ideas.  Instead of writing a brand new book, however, I am going to update and expand the original book with new info and new stories.  The original book still stands the test of time.  I just have a few ideas to update and some new research based ideas to offer.

  • updated training plans
  • research insight: How long should the long run be?
  • low mileage and high performance
  • no more wasted miles:  placing effort where it will make the biggest gains
  • balancing the social and achievement aspects of running
  • strength training updated
  • cross-training and triathlon

The 2017 updated version of “The Gift of kindle book cover prototypeRunning” is under construction.  I expect it to be available for purchase early next year.

 

Here is the first book:

____________

The Gift of Running, the first book in the Wise Running series by P. Mark Taylor, is available in both paperback & e-book.

Running is a gift, but not only for the gifted.  Whether you run just for fun or want to become a more competitive runner, The Gift of Running is for you. In The Gift of Running, P. Mark Taylor shows runners how to get started and stay motivated.

The book includes:  advice on how to get started as a runner, tried & true methods of running faster and longer, how to prepare for a marathon, tips on staying healthy & happy, motivation to keep you running, an insider view of the running community, & training programs for a 5K, 10K, half marathon, & marathon.

________________
I wrote this book for several reasons.  Many of the books on running are tough to read, a lot like technical manuals.  I wanted to offer something more personal, runner to runner.  Moreover, I wanted it to be easy to read for the inexperienced runner.  I think I have accomplished this with The Gift of Running .
_______________
Leave a Reply

